WFNS Statement

The World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS)

We, The World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies (WFNS), a global professional body of Neurosurgical physicians chartered to improve worldwide neurosurgical care, training and research to benefit our patients, hereby call for the immediate cessation of the war in Ukraine precipitated by the invasion of Ukraine by Russia. We categorically denounce the violence and the wanton infliction of unnecessary human suffering in all conflict which we are sworn as physicians to mitigate by our Hippocratic Oath. We support the democratic principles of freedom and peaceful co-existence and we respect the sovereignty of all nations. We are pained and horrified by the destruction of life and liberty and offer our unequivocal support to the embattled people of Ukraine and stand ready to provide humanitarian aid, medical assistance, and the professional skills of all our members worldwide. We support the actions of the UN General Assembly and the Security Council in upholding the UN Charter to prevent conflict and avert the scourge of war. We support our colleagues in the Ukrainian Association of Neurosurgeons and stand ready to provide them with every assistance we can.

About WFNS: Founded in 1955, is a professional, scientific, non-governmental organization comprising of 130 member societies, consisting of 5 Continental Associations, 119 National Neurosurgical Societies and 6 Affiliate Societies, representing over 49,000 neurosurgeons worldwide.

WFNS Officers

Nelson M. Oyesiku
President, WFNS

Franco Servadei
Past-President, WFNS

Miguel A. Arraez
1st VP, WFNS

Najia el abbadi
President-Elect, WFNS

Akio Morita
Secretary, WFNS

Miro Vukic
Asst Secretary, WFNS

Nasser El-ghandour
Treasurer, WFNS

Marco Fontanella
Asst Treasurer, WFNS

Continental Presidents

Regis W. Haid
President, AANS

Wan Tew Seow
President, AASNS

Andreas Demetriades
President, EANS,

Mahmood Qureshi
President, CAANS

José Soriano
President, FLANC

2nd VPs of Continental Societies

Frederick Boop
2nd VP, AANS

Kate Drummond

B B Shehu

Jesus Lafuente
2nd VP, EANS

Marcos Masini
June 2024