Candidates of the slate of officers 2021 -2023 of WFNS

To: ALL Members of the Executive Committee of WFNS
       All WFNS member societies and WFNS officers

Dear Colleagues,

The following candidates have been evaluated by the Nominating Committee for the next term of WFNS slate of officers (September 2021- September 2023).  The documentation provided by the candidates for the different positions was meticulously analysed by the committee members and found appropriate and in order.

Due to the COVID situation, the election will be held by Electronic voting at the end of August or in the early September.  The e-voting detailed information will be sent to you in the middle of August.       

Candidates’ names are listed in alphabetical order by surname.


President-Elect (1): Najia El-Abbadi (Morocco)
Basant Misra (India)
Tito Perilla (Colombia)
1st Vice-President (1): Miguel A. Arraez (Spain)
Secretary (1): Akio Morita (Japan)
Assistant Secretary (1): Miroslav Vukic (Croatia)
Treasurer (1): Nasser El-Ghandour (Egypt)
Ioan Stefan Florian (Romania)
Assistant Treasurer (1): Hari Chandran (Malaysia)
Marco Maria Fontanella (Italy)
2nd Vice-Presidents
AANS (1): Frederick Boop (USA)
AASNS (1): M. Balamurugan (India)
Katharine Jann Drummond (Australia)
CAANS (1): Bello B. Shehu (Nigeria)
EANS (1): Jesus Lafuente (Spain)
FLANC (1): Marcos Masini (Brazil)
Historian (1): Yong Kwang Tu (Taiwan)
Honorary President (1): Adel El-Hakim (Egypt)
Sherif Ezzat (Egypt)
Kalangu Kazadi (Zimbabwe)
Christopher Loftus (USA)
Marco A. Molina-Martínez (Honduras)
Samuel Ohaegbulam (Nigeria)


Audit Committee (3) Sepideh Amin-Hanjani (USA)
André Grotenhuis (Netherlands)
Soichi Oya (Japan)
C & B Committee (5) Bernard R. Bendok (USA)
Antonino F. Germanò (Italy)
Amal Abou Hamden (Australia)
Sanjeeva Jeyaretna (UK)
José Nallino (Argentina)
Kantha Rasalingam (Malaysia)
Kresimir Rotim (Croatia)
Mike Du Trevou (South Africa)
Nominating Committee (10)
AANS (2): Mustafa Kemal Baskaya (USA)
Amir R. Dehdashti (USA)
AASNS (2): Azmi Bin Alias (Malaysia)
Miki Fujimura (Japan)
CAANS (1): Souad Bakht (Algeria)
Sherif Ezzat (Egypt)

The current chairman (Sherif Ezzat) will automatically become one of the members for 2021-2023.

EANS (2): Volodymyr Smolanka (Ukraine)
Manfred Westphal (Germany)
FLANC (2): Apio Antunes (Brazil)
Reddy Simon (Paraguayan)
Publication & Web Committee (2) Regunath Kandasamy (Malaysia)
Peter Nakaji (USA)
Fiacro Jiménez Ponce (Mexico)
Hiroyuki Takao (Japan)

If you are no longer an officer of your society, please forward this email to your successor.

Your sincerely,

Akio Morita
Secretary, WFNS

February 2024