WFNS Elections Results 2023

Peter Nakaji

WFNS Web and Publications Committee Chair

WFNS elections were held according to the bylaws at the WFNS 2023 World Congress, Cape Town, December 4-8. Major highlights include: Luis Borba (Brazil), President-Elect; Kenan Arnautovic (USA), 1st Vice President; Miroslav Vukic (Croatia), Secretary; Nasser El-Ghandour (Egypt), Treasurer. Najia El Abbadi (Morocco) formally assumed the position of WFNS President from Nelson Oyesiku. Bali was selected to host the 2027 World Congress, coming first in a strong field including Mumbai and Prague. New membership applications were approved from Benin, Ivory Coast, Niger, Congo, Zimbabwe, and Togo. Two constitutional amendments, five bylaws amendments, and five appendix amendments were all approved.

The results of the 2023 WFNS Elections conducted by the Executive Committee are listed below. Complete results, including all contenders and vote counts, are on the WFNS website.

WFNS Elections Results 2023

- 1. Membership applications
 - a. Benin, Ivory Coast, Niger. Congo. Zimbabwe, Togo YES
 - b. No unsuccessful applications.
- 2. Amendments
 - a. Constitutional Amendments
 - i. C1, C2 YES
 - ii. All proposed amendments were approved.
 - b. Bylaws Amendments
 - i. B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 YES
 - ii. All proposed amendments were approved.
 - c. Appendix Amendments
 - i. A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 YES
 - ii. All proposed amendments were approved.
 - d. President Elect Luis Borba (Brazil)
 - e. 1st Vice-President Kenan Arnautovic (USA)
 - f. 2nd Vice-President for AANS David Adelson (USA)
 - g. 2nd Vice-President for AASNS Virendra Sinha (India)
 - h. 2nd Vice-President for FLANC Jose A. Soriano (Mexico)
 - i. 2nd Vice-President for CAANS Mahmood Qureshi (Kenya)
 - i. 2nd Vice-President for EANS Karl Schaller (Switzerland)
 - k. Secretary Miroslav Vukič (Croatia)
 - 1. Assistant Secretary Volodymyr Smolanka (Ukraine)
 - m. Treasurer Nasser El-Ghandour (Egypt)
 - n. Assistant treasurer Marco Fontanella (Italy)
 - o. Constitution and Bylaws (C and B) Committee
 - i. Bernard Bendok (USA)
 - ii. Kostas Fountas (Greece)
 - iii. Luis Ley (Spain)

- iv. John Ouma (South Africa)
- v. Kresimir Rotim (Croatia)
- p. Publication and Web Committee
 - i. Peter Nakaji (USA) Chair
 - ii. Bipin Kumar Chaurasia (Nepal)
- q. Nominating Committee for AANS
 - i. Carlos David (USA) chair
 - ii. Andrew Reisner (USA)
- r. Nominating Committee for AASNS
 - i. Satoshi Kuroda (Japan)
 - ii. Lynne Lourdes Lucena (Philippines)
- s. Nominating Committee for CAANS
 - i. Mohamed El-Fiki (Egypt)
 - ii. Abenezer Tirsit (Ethiopia)
- t. Nominating Committee for EANS
 - i. Alberto Delitala (Italy)
 - ii. Lukas Rasulic (Serbia)
- u. Nominating Committee for FLANC
 - i. Jorge Salazar (Ecuador)
- v. Audit Committee
 - i. Soichi Oya (Japan)
 - ii. Judy Huang (USA)
 - iii. Idoya Zaspe (Spain)
- w. Historian
 - i. Yong Kwang Tu (Taiwan)
- x. Honorary President
 - i. Christopher Loftus (USA)

WFNS World Congress 2025

- y. WFNS 2025 Congress President
 - i. Jesus Lafuente
- z. WFNS 2025 Congress 1st Vice-President
 - i. Miguel Angel Arraez
- aa. WFNS 2025 Congress 2nd Vice-President
 - i. Charo González Rodrigálvarez
- bb. WFNS 2025 Congress Secretary
 - i. Angel Rodriguez De Lope
- cc. WFNS 2025 Congress Assistant Secretary
 - i. Monica Lara
- dd. WFNS 2025 Congress Treasurer
 - i. Carlos Dominguez
- ee. WFNS 2025 Congress Assistant Treasurer
 - i. Adolfo De La Lama
- ff. Scientific Program Director
 - i. Luis Ley

WFNS World Congress 2027 venue – Bali, Indonesia



Najia El-Abbadi President



Luis Borba President-Elect



Kenan Arnautovic First Vice-President



David Adelson AANS Second Vice-President



Virendra Deo Sinha AASNS Second Vice-President



Mahmood Qureshi CAANS Second Vice-President



Karl Schaller EANS Second Vice-President



José A. Soriano FLANC Second Vice-Presiden