

19th May 2021

## To, Prof Franco Servadei, President WFNS

Dear Prof Servadei

It is with deep regret that we bring to your notice regarding demise of three of our neurosurgery colleagues who have succumbed to the Covid Pandemic.

We are herewith attaching the obituaries to be uploaded on the WFNS Website.

Stay safe and healthy

Thanks & Regards

Locendes 1

Dr Lokendra Singh President, NSI

N- unmukuman

Dr N Muthukumar Secretary NSI

Executive Committee: 2019 - 20President: Dr. Lokendra SinghPresident Elect: Dr. V. P. SinghHon. Secretary: Dr. N. MuthukumarTreasurer: Dr. Daljit SinghEditor, Neurology India: Dr. P. Sarat Chandra				
<b>Members:</b> Dr. Achal Kumar Srivastava Dr. Lakshmi Narasimhan	Dr. Dilip Panikar Dr. Manjari Tripathi	Dr. Girish Menon Dr. Rakesh Jalali	Dr. JKBC Parthiban Dr. Sanjay Pandey	Dr. K. Sridhar Dr. Y. R. Yadav
Past Presidents:	Dr. Atul Goel	Dr. Suresh Nair		
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2019: Dr. Ketan Desai				
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2020: Dr. Sandip Chatterjee				



## **Dr. Alok Gupta** (17.10.1963 - 15.05.2021)



succumbed to COVID on 16.5.21

He did his MBBS MS from Gwalior and had joined PGI Chandigarh before deciding to shift to Delhi

Dr. Gupta did his residency in Neurosurgery at GIPMER (G B Pant Hospital) Delhi University from 1994 to1995 and was loved by his colleagues for his sincerity and devotion.

He was sober person who had a soft-spoken voice which would tide over any difficult situation with his natural gifted alluring smile. Full of compassion, he would always reach before time in department and had extreme urge to learn and do new procedures by putting extra labour and time for it.

After his MCh, he trained in stereotaxy from Singapore, DBS at Amsterdam Netherlands under Prof D ABosch, later advance training under Prof Bjorn Meyerson at Stockholm Sweden. He was first to bring and popularize Neuromodulation in North India. He worked at VIMHANS Delhi before moving to Faridabad.

Executive Committee: 2019 - 20					
President: Dr. Lokendra Singh President Ele		ct: Dr. V. P. Singh	Hon. Secret	Hon. Secretary: Dr. N. Muthukumar	
Treasurer: Dr. Daljit Singh Editor, Neurology India: Dr. P. Sarat Chandra					
Members:					
Dr. Achal Kumar Srivastava	Dr. Dilip Panikar	Dr. Girish Menon	Dr. JKBC Parthiban	Dr. K. Sridhar	
Dr. Lakshmi Narasimhan	Dr. Manjari Tripathi	Dr. Rakesh Jalali	Dr. Sanjay Pandey	Dr. Y. R. Yadav	
Past Presidents:	Dr. Atul Goel	Dr. Suresh Nair			
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2019: Dr. Ketan Desai					
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2020: Dr. Sandip Chatterjee					



He had the credit to have performed first DBS in Asia for OCD. He had done DBS for Parkinson disease in 1998 in India and for refractory epilepsy in 2012. He was so passionate about learning that he would not hesitate in going to any junior level colleague to learn any new skill, which would enrich his domain for the benefit of patient and that made a distinct personality who will chase his dreams to make realizations in life.

All through his life, he fought bravely with circumstances, his illness, life and death experiences to reach at top spiritually and accomplished the goal of being a great human being. He wrote his autobiography "the Dream Chaser in 2018. He was a fighter, came out from difficult situations gracefully, with flying colours several times in life and had set rolling example for young neurosurgeon in India.

He is survived by his wife who is Ophalmologist, a son and daughter who is also a Doctor.

Dr. Daljit Dingh HOD of Neurosurgery, GIPMER, Delhi

Executive Committee: 2019 - 20					
President: Dr. Lokendra Singh President Ele		ct: Dr. V. P. Singh	Hon. Secretary: Dr. N. Muthukumar		
Treasurer: Dr. Daljit Singh Editor, Neurology India: Dr. P. Sarat Chandra					
Members:					
Dr. Achal Kumar Srivastava	Dr. Dilip Panikar	Dr. Girish Menon	Dr. JKBC Parthiban	Dr. K. Sridhar	
Dr. Lakshmi Narasimhan	Dr. Manjari Tripathi	Dr. Rakesh Jalali	Dr. Sanjay Pandey	Dr. Y. R. Yadav	
Past Presidents:	Dr. Atul Goel	Dr. Suresh Nair			
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2019: Dr. Ketan Desai					
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2020: Dr. Sandip Chatterjee					





**Dr Anmol Tayal** was consultant neurosurgeon at NM Hospital, Ghaziabad. He was CPMT topper, joined MBBS at KGMU, Lucknow in 1989, did MS (general surgery) from GSVM, Kanpur and MCh (neurosurgery) from KGMU, Lucknow.

Dr Tayal succumbed to Covid. He is survived by his wife and two kids.

May God grant eternal peace to his soul and give strength and courage to whole family to bear this unfortunate, untimely and irreparable loss.

Dr Bal Krishna Ojha HOD of Neurosurgery King George Medical College, Lucknow

Executive Committee: 2019 - 20					
President: Dr. Lokendra Singh President Elec		ct: Dr. V. P. Singh	Hon. Secretary: Dr. N. Muthukumar		
Treasurer: Dr. Daljit Singh Editor, Neurology India: Dr. P. Sarat Chandra					
Members:					
Dr. Achal Kumar Srivastava	Dr. Dilip Panikar	Dr. Girish Menon	Dr. JKBC Parthiban	Dr. K. Sridhar	
Dr. Lakshmi Narasimhan	Dr. Manjari Tripathi	Dr. Rakesh Jalali	Dr. Sanjay Pandey	Dr. Y. R. Yadav	
Past Presidents:	Dr. Atul Goel	Dr. Suresh Nair			
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2019: Dr. Ketan Desai					
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2020: Dr. Sandip Chatterjee					



**DR. K. MAHESHWAR, M.Ch. (Neurosurgery),** was born on July 22, 1956 in Chennai, India. He had his medical education at Stanley Medical College, Chennai and obtained his MBBS degree from the University of Madras in 1978. He joined his Neurosurgical Residency in 1982 at the Madras Institute of Neurology, Madras Medical College, Chennai. After obtaining M.Ch. degree, he joined Tamilnadu Medical Service and worked in various Neurosurgery Departments in Chennai, including Stanley Medical College, Government Royapettah Hospital and Madras Medical College and became Professor of Neurosurgery and Head of the Department, Madras Institute of Neurology, Madras Medical College, Chennai and retired in July, 2014. He was in private practice since then. He succumbed to COVID on May 15, 2021.

Dr. Maheshwar was very soft spoken and kind person and was liked by all his colleagues and students. He showed lot empathy towards the poor patients. He was academically interested and attended all the National Neurosurgical Conferences. His sudden demise has saddened all his neurosurgical colleagues.

### Dr. V. G. Ramesh, HOD of Neurosurgery, Chettinad Medical College, Chennai

Executive Committee: 2019 - 20					
President: Dr. Lokendra Singh President El		sident Elect: Dr. V. P. Singh Hon		n. Secretary: Dr. N. Muthukumar	
Treasurer: Dr. Daljit Singh Editor, Neurology India: Dr. P. Sarat Chandra					
Members:					
Dr. Achal Kumar Srivastava	Dr. Dilip Panikar	Dr. Girish Menon	Dr. JKBC Parthiban	Dr. K. Sridhar	
Dr. Lakshmi Narasimhan	Dr. Manjari Tripathi	Dr. Rakesh Jalali	Dr. Sanjay Pandey	Dr. Y. R. Yadav	
Past Presidents:	Dr. Atul Goel	Dr. Suresh Nair			
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2019: Dr. Ketan Desai					
Organizing Secretary NSICON 2020: Dr. Sandip Chatterjee					